Last day madness


Tomorrow is the last school day in St. Michael’s School, and everybody is just crazy. I just heard that a boy had written a long poem praising his teachers and friends. A girl had been shedding one tear after another. This girl, I remember, did cry at the end of every academic year.

Some things that will happen tomorrow:

1)   People will lose their heads and run around like bulls. Can we call in a bullfighter? We do need one.

2)   Many will cry. Even life-long enemies will seek reconciliation, although after a few days each rival will realise how stupid that was.

3)   A common practice in our school: on particular ‘last days’, some extremely brave and patriotic students (really, ‘patriotic’? that’s just so insane!) bring crackers along with them and burst them when no one is noticing and BAAAM!!! Teachers then turn to the prefects and say—“how is this possible? Weren’t you people vigilant?” as if putting the blame on someone was so easy.

4)   On every such last day, every person has his/her shirt carrying several goodbye remarks by the end of the day. You’ll find everyone with a marker in his/her hand, ready to scribble something on any piece of shirt they find devoid of any black mark. ‘Shirt to be treasured forever!’ is made.

5)   Everyone will behave so nicely that a new comer may feel like St. Michael’s School is the best school ever. Any such new comer, never be so mistaken.

6)   The teachers will wish the students good luck for the impending exams and the students will sing ‘thank you’ in chorus. As soon as this is done, some very much sentimental students will rush to the teachers to touch their feet (as a sign of respect) and ask for their blessings. But believe me, these students call the teachers names, throw myriad insults at them all year round.

Everybody turns over a new leaf!

7)   Everyone will say—“I’ll never forget this day! I’ll never forget how much fun we had! My friends and my teachers! Once a Michaelite, always a Michaelite!” and other things like this, in theatrical ways.

My remark: Yeah, yeah, say whatever you can. Last year I had witnessed the last day of Class 9, and I can recall myself saying, “I’ll remember Class 9 forever!”

This ‘forever’ lasted only a mere five months and a half.

,

Leave a comment