Honest, are you?


Well, honesty is the best policy. Says who?

Some people say so, while others don’t. It depends.

But today, we’ll speak about honesty. One very big deed of honesty performed by me was on the day of distribution of test papers. The teacher had assigned me five marks more than what I deserved. I went to her straight and got my marks reduced, and received a bit of appreciation. I did good, right?

Also, I have never ever cheated in any exam. I am proud to say this, actually. I’m honest.

Image

But things go wrong at times. What will you do if a fat lady asks you how thin she was looking in a dress? Or what should you do if you have to smile like hell with your enemy and say that you agree with them on every matter?

Image

It’s very troubling to be honest with teachers. I don’t know about other places, but that’s the way it works here with most teachers. Some teachers are so proud that they keep on praising themselves, and seek assurance from their students on that. The students have to nod.

Image

And will you, after farting in public, be honest and own up that it was you? If you do so, I respect you. Obviously for your deed of honesty, and not for your deed.

Image

Anyway, moving on. Being honest and letting your feelings run out like your runny nose in the winter isn’t a good thing at all times. People may not say so, but they might feel hurt. But if people say they’ll be hurt then the speaker won’t say what he or she wants to say. But again, how will the hearer know if the speaker has something good or bad to say?

It’s confusing! I’m too lazy to go through it again.

And if you are a person whose feelings change almost every day, then you can never ever be honest. And to be honest again, no one should be like that.

Image

Image


4 responses to “Honest, are you?”

    • It’s true that being honest at every instant is not really appropriate , since it depends on the situation. But yes, if honesty leads us to the right way in a situation, we should certainly go for it.

      Like

Leave a comment